Mark Ellis
2 min readAug 3, 2023

Hey, Tony. Thank you for the post about this. Unfortunately, the downward spiral of my analytics on Medium appears to have only increased following the MPP changes. My earnings have been decimated over these last two days.

It has only been two days, and I'm absolutely willing to see how things go, but I'm also extremely concerned about the performance of my writing on here over the last few months.

As someone who has written consistently on Medium for over three years and delivered a great deal of value to a large audience of Apple enthusiasts (including yourself!) I'm left with what feels like an empty room and a tiny fraction of what I was being compensated for orignally. As a business, Medium is now costing me whereas it was once one of the most profitable and enjoyable publishing platforms to use.

I take no pleasure in writing this comment at all. I hate it, in fact. You're familiar with my writing (and Mac O'Clock, because you've previously noted that you're a regular reader), and I hope you know this comes entirely from the heart.

Medium has been at the centre of my business since I started it (mainly through publication, but, more recently, as part of my Medium Academy, which aimed to help aspiring writers thrive on this platform) but it is fast becoming a peripheral player.

What concerns me is that the new MPP rules and the boost program appear to swing past tech content without giving it a second glance. We don't get as much engagement as the stories that are being rewarded, yet we still deliver value to our audience. More frustratingly, I was never once consulted on the proposed changes to the program or the algorithm. It would have been very much appreciated as a prolific writer on here to be asked for my opinion.

I still love Medium and it means an awful lot to me, but the last few months have been beyond disappointing and I am now seriously considering its role in the future of my business (and, consequently, my audience's future). I hope there is some room for manoeuvre here for people in my position - I don't want Medium to lose great writers.

Mark Ellis

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter