Meta Quest 3S Review: A £290 Marvel!

But can it beat Vision Pro?

Mark Ellis
8 min readOct 14, 2024

--

Meta Quest 3S worn by Mark Ellis who looks amazed.
Image courtesy of author

Hi, I’m Mark. I’m a Vision Pro early adopter. Quite a serious one, too; back in February, I spent a lot of money importing Apple’s mixed reality headset from the United States into the UK.

Apple Vision Pro headset on a desk.
Image courtesy of author

Back then, I didn’t fancy waiting an unspecified amount of time for the future of computing (allegedly) to reach these shores. This resulted in some hefty import VAT and charges, and the acquisition of an incredibly nascent piece of technology which would very likely not fully work in my country.

I did this, because it’s my job. I’ve spent the last four and a half years building an online reputation which has been fuelled primarily by my coverage of Apple products. When Tim and co. decided to launch the first version of their take on the next generation of computing, I’m hardly going to turn a blind eye, am I?

There’s just two problems with Vision Pro: it’s incredibly expensive and frustratingly heavy. The former I can live with, the latter has been an issue since I unboxed it.

--

--

Mark Ellis

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter